Bump in the Road ~

I received a phone call from our oldest son Friday morning, “Mom, brother had another seizure and is at the ER…I’ll be right there, I replied!”  Instant memories flooded back to when he began experiencing seizures as an infant through the age of eight.   He finally “outgrew” his condition and has been seizure free for fifteen years.  All that changed this May when his seizure activity began again and now for a second time within months.

The heart felt anguish of a mother, feelings of helplessness both then and now.  What can I do?  How can I help?  What options does he have?  Just like MS, I needed to understand and learn all I could about adult seizures so I could try to help.  I searched on the internet, reached out to my brilliant medical friends to discuss all this and make sure I gathered, confirmed and equipped my son with information so he could make good, educated decisions for himself.

basketballprayersl-1A little bump in the road, one that will make him stronger yet.  He’s a fighter, and would never give up.  One thing he can always be sure of…God, his family and dear friends will be right by his side ~ someone strong, dependable, supportive and giving.  Helping the hard times to be a little easier, the easy times to be a little sweeter, and the sweet times to make you feel like the most loved person in the world.  That’s how I feel when having my family right at my side.  Family, the greatest blessing from God above.

We definitely will lean on one of our favorite scriptures as we process this little bump in the road:   I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me ~ Phil 4:13 NKJV.

We love you son and we are always right by your side!

“Count Your Blessings”

2 Comments

  1. Chris Spaeder

    Catherine you are such a beautiful person. Love to all of your family.

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Ditto Chris ~ Hope all is well and the kiddos are ready for school! : )

Leave a Reply

