Where Flowers Bloom, So Do Smiles ~

Daylily FarmThe beauty of my flower garden.  One of my favorite places to be. Several years ago, while visiting my in laws in New Hampshire, Mom took me to her friend’s daylily farm. She was cleaning out her amazing gardens and you guessed it, wanted to share!  I was like a kid in the candy store.  Instant smiles as I admired each and every shape, size and beautiful color.  I was happy to give them all a new home – what ever could fit in the car.  We could always put the luggage on the roof right!?!  I remember the look on my husband’s face – she’s serious!

Its been a few years now since the daylilies have been planted in our gardens. I simply smile each morning as the dogs and I walk through the gardens to see each bloom and anticipate the next.  That’s what each and every lily represents…memories of special loved ones.  Priceless for me!

It was time for my annual girlie appointment the other day.  While most mind these appointments, I do not.  Over the years, I’ve been blessed to develop a wonderful friendship with my doctor.  And you guessed it, I gave her daylilies for her garden.

She is a recent breast cancer survivor.  Now that’s a great big PTL!!!  During that time, our friendship quickly shifted  to one of support Daylilywhile she managed and processed this horrific disease and treatment.  Her constant prayer was one of healing, if it was His will, and get back to delivering babies and treating patients like me.  She’s doing just that!  She inspires me so and reminded me to “keep smiling, just like I do every time I look at your daylilies blooming!” The beauty of sharing perennials.  You never know the positive impact, the simple smiles a bloom can bring to brighten one’s day!

Remember to embrace the challenges we face each day.  Reach out to the goodness that surrounds you, it’s waiting for you – even the peace and serenity of a beautiful daylily blooming!

“Count Your Blessings”

2 Comments

  1. Susan Clark Denny

    Wonderful feel good message!

    • 🙂 Thank you Susan. Hope you’re doing well and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

