MS Care Team ~ A Candid Interview with Jennifer Dolnycky, PT, MPT

Are you fortunate to have an amazing MS Medical Care Team? With MS, our symptoms vary significantly, and may require support from different medical professionals.  Today, I welcome you to get to know my physical therapist, Jennifer Dolnycky, PT, MPT.  Jen daily impacts and changes the lives of many at Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital Outpatient PT here in Pennsylvania.  I’m so thankful she’s part of my MS Care Team!  Enjoy!

Can you tell me a little about yourself?

I graduated from Penn State with a Bachelor in Kinesiology in 1999 and Temple University with a Master in Physical Therapy in 2002.  I have worked in a variety of settings including hospital inpatient PT, orthopedic outpatient clinics and currently work full-time at Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital Outpatient PT.  I am focused on the treatment of the person with Neurological conditions such as MS, Parkinson’s Disease and Stroke.  On a personal note, I am currently 30 weeks pregnant with twins!  A boy and a girl!   So exciting!  You’ll be a terrific Mom!

Jen PTGrowing up, did you always know you wanted help people and work in the medical field?  Why did you choose to become a PT?

I did always know that I would be in the medical field and in some form of service to others in need.  I started out pre-med in college but made some changes along the way that led me into Physical Therapy.  Looking back, I injured my arm at age eight and was immobilized for two weeks.  I lost strength in my body and had to learn how to walk again in PT.  I think that always stuck with me and helped lead to my future career path.

I know you mentioned you primarily work with MS and Parkinson patients.  What drew you to these neurological types of cases?

I feel that PT can make such a difference in this population.  PT helps to improve mobility, increase independence and decrease pain overall affecting quality of life.

So many advancements have been made in the field of PT.  What do you find amazing?  What discoveries excite you?

I continue to be amazed at the technological advances in this field.  There is always a new piece of equipment to learn about that can help in the rehabilitation process.

Treating patients with many different concerns and deficits, what do you find rewarding and challenging?

When you are talking about neurological diagnoses, they are often complex and multifaceted.  It is important to be aware of how this diagnosis affects all of the person and acknowledge that instead of just treating symptoms.  It can be rewarding to see someone conquer a problem with your help.  It can be challenging when you are dealing with a progressive condition.

You truly are a gifted PT Jen; can you share your career aspirations?

Really just to continue making a difference for people going through difficult life challenges the best I can.

After a hard day’s work, I like to…

These days, it is pretty much going home and putting my feet up :>  I also love spending time with my husband and two pugs!

Any take away words of encouragement for patients?

Keep trying new things and never give up!

You’ve touched the lives of your patients in many ways Jen, both professionally and personally, just by being you!   Your care and compassion is evident each and every visit.  I simply smile as I watch patients track you down on the PT floor to say hello, to ask how you are and exchange gentle smiles!  I am so grateful for your vast knowledge, recommendations and encouragement to help me be the very best I can be.  You’re my blessing, Jen, and I thank you!

“Count Your Blessings”

Feel free to check out Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital Outpatient PT @ http://www.mainlinehealth.org/Neurorehabilitation-Center. You won’t be disappointed.

2 Comments

  1. Great idea and done well. The way you’ve spotlighted someone who has helped you says a lot about you also.

    • Thank you for your kind comments! The priceless importance of our MS Care Teams!
      I know you can appreciate that too! Stay tuned as I hope to have additional segments. Wishing you a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

