Simple Pleasures of Life ~ My BalanceWear Weighted Vest

My BalanceWear Vest

My very own customized BalanceWear Weighted Vest has arrived.  I can’t begin to describe how excited I am to begin my coordination and balance exercises provided by Jen, my PT.  Our specific goals focus on improved balance and losing my cane.  Now that’s what I’m talking about!

While I know my balance and gait issues are directly related to my MS, I am so grateful for new advancements and tools available to help manage and improve these conditions.

During my trial period and testing for BalanceWear, I didn’t know if I would be a good candidate, I’ve been in similar situations before without positive results. I definitely was apprehensive and prepared myself with an attitude of “zero expections – anything else would be a bonus.”  My bonus was finally here!  Love my BalanceWear and the potential my hard work could bring!

Max & Allie

My helpers

I continue to be amazed at what four little .25 lb. weights, strategically placed throughout my vest, could mean.  It’s been such a long time since I felt grounded and stable as I began to walk. With BalanceWear, I wasn’t wobbling all over the place.  I immediately regained that sense of confidence and it felt oh so good!

One of the benefits I found with my vest ~ I am finally able to enjoy working in my flower beds again, without the fear of rolling down the hill in our back yard! 🙂  Our puppers (supervisors) couldn’t be happier!  As I asked my husband, “Do you think I can forget about wearing the helmet now?”  He flashed that wonderful smile of his my way.  I love the humor and support of this man!

BW5I am forever grateful for the hard work and dedication of brilliant minds like Cindy Gibson-Horn, PT, for developing BalanceWear.  This vest allows patients like me to work hard and prepare for additional advancements, options and ultimately a cure for MS.  Are you ready?

If you have balance issues, you owe it to yourself to see if you too could benefit from BalanceWear.  Nothing to lose but so much to gain!  Investigate your options at:  http://www.motiontherapeutics.com/

“Count Your Blessings”

 

4 Comments

  1. This is such an interesting concept/idea and I hadn’t heard about it before reading your blog. Are the weights moveable to allow for changes? I’m beyond the stage of this helping me, but am excited about the help it offers others. Great picture of you gardening.

    • I can’t tell you how excited I am about this vest. Truely is helping. The weights are movable, the velcro right inside. May I ask about your status? Perhaps private discussion? I know I’m battling my MS as my spinal lesions (based on MRI) are really deteriorating. I truly love gardening – my peace and serenity!

  2. What an exciting vest. Good for you & hope you get all you want out of it!

Leave a Reply

