Did You Know…Facts About MS

I find myself continually surfing the web researching as much as I can about MS.  I ran across this post, Facts About MS, and wanted to share.  Did you know the reported 400,000+ MSers in the United States was actually calculated in 1976?  I knew that number seemed low considering anyone I talk to seems to know someone diagnosed with MS.  How about you.  Any interesting facts to add?

cure ms

Facts About MS (contents from msfocus.org)

  • More than 400,000 people in the United States have MS.
  • An estimated 2,500,000 around the world have MS.
  • Diagnosis of MS is usually between 20 and 40 years of age.
  • MS affects more women than men, with a ratio of 2:1.
  • Among young adults, MS is the most common disease of the central nervous system.
  • Fatigue is one of the most common symptoms of MS.
  • MS is not contagious.
  • There are four types of MS:  relapsing-remitting, secondary-progressive, primary progressive and progressive relapsing.
  • About 85% of those who are newly diagnosed have the relapsing-remitting form of MS.
  • About 45% of the people with MS are not severely affected by the disease.
  • Without disease-modifying therapy, about 50% of those diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS will become progressive at 10 years.
  • Without disease-modifying therapy, about one-third of those diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS will be using a wheelchair at 20 years.
  • Increased understanding of MS has led to the development of many new treatments that target both the disease process and its many symptoms.
  • MS is not inherited or genetically transmitted, although there does seem to be some genetic susceptibility to the disease.
  • Sclerosis is a Greek word meaning hardening of tissue or scars.
  • In countries further from the equator, the incidence of MS increases.
  • MS is a progressive disease for which there is not yet a cure.

“Count Your Blessings”

5 Comments

  1. Good review. I thought the ratio of women to men affected was 3:1.

    • Good point! All the information online, depending where you visit, differ in opinion. I’ve read even a 4:1 ratio based on younger patients being diagnosed. I think your right with 3:1 being commonly reported! Now there’s an average! I agree with statements that this is primarily a disease affecting women. I’m thankful for your post! ; )

  2. More good info. Since I was diagnosed so late (24 yrs after initial symptoms) I advanced to SPMS within a few years of my diagnosis. It is easy to tell yourself that you don’t need DMDs when you can still work and walk and think, but DO IT! I wouldn’t be where I am now – disabled and very limited – if I had been diagnosed earlier AND if there had been disease modifying drugs way back when.

    • Preach it GF! Hope is on the way with research for SPMS! In the meantime, I know you’re doing all you can and will be ready to go!!! Your attitude and never give up attitude always inspires me! So glad we met in Boston and our friendship still continues years later! 🙂 Still have to come up with someway to get your comedy gig on tape! Love your humor!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Prognosis | My MS Journal

Leave a Reply

