Smoothies…Making that Difference

One of my goals recently has been to eat healthier, make better choices.  I thought I was making good choice for my daily diet, in reality, it was pretty bad.  I recall visiting a local naturopathic where I proudly provided her with my food intake.  Her response, “that’s atrocious!”  I couldn’t  believe it.  What’s wrong with my diet?  Deep down, I knew I could do better.  So my daily dose of chocolate,  ice cream for lunch and carbs (boy I do miss my Philadelphia Soft Pretzels) are gone.  The key word here was daily!  🙂  I do have my goodies but not daily and in moderation.  That’s my reality!

RawfoodpyramidSo is this working?  We all know what we should and should not eat don’t we?  I can’t tell you how much I am enjoying the benefits of nutritional health from my NutriBullet – thanks kiddos! There is no way I would ever eat all the fruits and veggies recommended by the good ole food pyramid (remember that?)  Instead, I’m consuming just that and more.

Can I tell the difference?  You bet!  My energy level is increasing, my skin, nails and hair appear better, and I definitely notice I’m not hungry for my junk!  A great big Amen to that!  My husband has even joined me with making healthier choices.

Just like MS, everything you read may or may not be true.  Educate yourself so that you and your loved ones can make good decisions for yourself.  As always, make sure you touch base with you doctor to see if they think this is a good fit for you.

In our home, we have one smoothie daily.  We have now incorporated an all natural protein powder to our shakes for optimal benefits.  I find it extremely helpful to prep as much as I can at the beginning of the week.   So much better for us to remain compliant.  Everything is ready to go.

Fall harvest is at its peak right now offering a great selection of healthy fruits and veggies for your meals and smoothies.

fruits-veggies1

Fruits like apples, oranges, all berries, bananas, grapes and kiwis aren’t just rich in flavor — they are loaded with essential vitamins, minerals, beta carotene, antioxidants, fiber and more.

For veggies, try broccoli, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, kale, cabbage and bok choy.  These are all part of the cabbage family.  They too are loaded with all kinds of goodness: phytochemicals, vitamins, minerals, fiber and more.

With such benefits received  from one daily smoothie, to say I’m excited is an understatement.  If you’ve been following my blog, you’re starting to get a pretty good picture of where I stand on many subjects.  Diet is one of them.  With a healthy diet added to my effective DMD, Rebif, exercise and PT, the love and support I receive from God, my husband, family and dear friends, I’m doing what I can to be optimal. Sounds like a plan to me!

What’s your diet regimen?

“Count Your Blessings”

6 Comments

  1. Good going! As for me, I’ll just hang my head shamefully after an indulgent weekend. There’s always tomorrow!

    • Love indulgent weekends!!! Then back to moderation! You’re in great shape 🙂

  2. TeacupsandBlueJeans

    Awesome! I have found that raw foods have really made a difference with me and my MS….a very big difference!!!

  3. I have just started following your blog. What is “DMD”?

    • Welcome and thank you for following my blog. DMD stands for Disease Modifying Drug. Hope that helps and thank you for your question. 🙂

Leave a Reply

