Pardon the Interruption

Courtesy ESPN PTI

Courtesy ESPN PTI

Have you ever watched ESPN’s “Pardon the Interruption?” Living with two athletic and competitive teens, you quickly learned and enjoyed these shows.  PTI (abbreviation for sports enthusiasts) is a sports show airing weekdays where the hosts discuss and often banter over the top stories of the day in sports.  The two hosts, Tony and Michael, were a perfect match and always cracked me up with their differing styles and opinions.

I recently had my very own “Pardon the Interruption.”  Certainly not sports related but rather a huge inconvenience for me.  I know I definitely don’t  appreciate when that happens!  After all, I have an agenda.  Needless to say, I think God had other plans…slow down!  When I seem to be doing too much, He has a funny way of getting my attention!

Unfortunately, I rolled my ankle late Wednesday afternoon.  Of course, I had my hissy fit, proceeded to grab some ice and you guessed it, elevation.  Time to rest and regroup and boy did I need to regroup.  No matter how many times this happens, I still react the same way.  I can always feel the Irish in me ready to erupt…for what?  Is it going to change or accomplish anything?  No.  Let it go and move on!

17342_1338017293967_4361301_nCome the following morning, my ankle was extremely swollen and painful.  I could hardly put weight on it.  Hubby suggested a visit to the physician was in order.  Long story short, x-rays revealed no fracture, significant sprain – now that’s a great PTL considering this has happened in the past.  Typical protocol of care recommended:  brace, ace, rest, ice and elevation.  One day at a time.

Today, with the puppers at my side, I’m following my instructions.  I continue to try to slow down and pace myself with all that I would like to accomplish.  There’s the key word right there, I.  Sometimes, I’m my own worst enemy with the vast expectations I place on myself.  Tomorrow is always another day.  Here’s the good news, it will still be there for me to tackle!  🙂

At the moment, I’m embracing my “Pardon the Interruption” knowing God is still trying to teach me every step of the way.

Enjoy your weekend!

“Count Your Blessings”

4 Comments

  1. The dictionary describes interruption as “intermission”. Hope the resting pays off and you’re intermission is as short as it can be.

    • 🙂 Thank you for your kind words! I’ll take that intermission and be good to go before you know it! Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Susan Clark Denny

    I’m sorry, dear! Alas, unrealistic expectations have been a way of life for me, too! Take care of yourself now so shopping isn’t impeded next month!

    • This too shall pass…praying it heals quickly though! lol Stay warm and enjoy your weekend GF.

Leave a Reply

