Owning My Decision ~ Inspiration

In our home, we always followed what we called the 3Ds…dedication, determination and discipline.  I found myself taking those same 3Ds and using them as my source of inspiration and for the journey I was about to begin, the quest for a new DMD (disease modifying drug.)

There were only two options available at that time, Betaseron and Copaxone.  However, my neuro had discussed with me a new DMD, Rebif, that was doing well in Canada and Europe and coming to the states.  He thought this drug would be a good fit for me.

It was also during this time that my neurologist and physical therapist decided that my job was too physically demanding and taxing on my body.  They recommended that I quit—wait, quit?  I still had two boys to care for!  How could this be happening?  I was completely devastated but deep down knew they were right.  I couldn’t provide the care for patients like I wanted to.  So grateful Mom and Dad were able to help me take care of the boys!

Hope

Despite being completely overwhelmed, I continued to learn as much as I could about MS and the available treatments, What can I say?  I just needed to educate myself as much as I could to be my own advocate.  Rebif was now available in the states.  My neurologist and I discussed the benefits and risks, he answered all my questions and we decided I should give it a try—I’ve been taking Rebif for 11 years now.

Today, I feel that by being proactive, finding a therapy that my body would respond to, I’ve helped control and maintain my MS.  In fact, my MRI (of both the brain and spine) over the years have shown no new lesion activity, none, priceless for me!  Research does state, however, that the exact correlation between MRI findings don’t always represent what you may/may not be experiencing clinically.  In other words, they don’t necessarily match.

It took me a while to find a treatment that would work for me, and I had to manage some tough trials along the way, but I’m glad I had options.  I’m a huge proponent that once you receive your diagnosis, get on a DMD immediately, start somewhere, and remain committed to your treatment!  You owe it to yourself and your family.

With a DMD that my body is indeed responding to, our 3Ds remain paramount:  I remain dedicated, I remain determined and I remain disciplined to fight the good fight!  God’s not done with me yet!

“Count Your Blessings”

2 Comments

  1. Susan Clark Denny

    Love you, girl!

Leave a Reply

