Owning My Decision ~ My Priceless Gifts

Thanksgiving.  One of my favorite holidays!  A time to give thanks for the many blessings we have each and every day!   My in-laws arrived from out-of-state just in time for the big feast complete with Tom the Turk, amazing sides and yummy desserts.  I found myself thinking about my diet theory, moderation, and quickly dismissed.  Everything was oh so good!

Speaking of good, in addition to my success with Rebif, I also value the added benefits of physical therapy. Because of the lesions on my spine, the messages my brain is sending to my legs sometimes don’t get through, causing weakness and gait issues.  I was tripping a lot and even broken my ankle a couple of times.  My goal with physical therapy is to strengthen my legs and ankles in an effort to prevent these detours.

It’s important to work on building a good medical team.  That’s been a challenge for me at times.  Over the years, my neurologists and I haven’t always seen eye to eye—so I’ve had, well, more than one.  But I’m really happy with my current neurologist.  We work together to manage my MS and that’s important to me.  Never giving up!  🙂

ma-for-mom2.jpgHaving the love and support of family and friends has been a big thing for me too!  My boys are young, independent men now, but they still listen to my lousy jokes and let me dote on them.  They also check in on me to make sure everything is okay.  I recall I was planning to attend my youngest son’s soccer game at college, but it was just too hot and I ended up staying home.  I wasn’t very happy!  I enjoy watching and cheering as the boys played their respective sports. “I’m glad you’re not coming,” he said. “I’d hate to have to come out there and chase you back to the car!”

I have the support of an amazing husband as well.  I remarried a while back to a man who “gets” my MS.  When Todd and I met, it became very obvious to me that he was indeed a very caring man and said what he meant and meant what he said.  When I thought the time was right for me to tell him that I had MS, he responded – “I already knew!”  Shocked, surprised, instant response, “What!?!”  “How did you know?”  Long story short, he’d searched my name on the internet and found  I was involved with the MS Community and read my story.  He had educated himself about Multiple Sclerosis and was at peace and embraced what he was dealing with.

One of the things I love the most about Todd is our ability to have good, honest discussions.  He handles both my good and bad days, my hissy fits and periodic comments like, “I’m sick of being sick.”  He has tremendous patience with me and is always ready to reassure me.  I can be that sappy wife sometimes!  But he also has the job of telling me things I don’t want to hear – like I shouldn’t be doing something.  I always hate when I know he’s right!  lol  I do know, however, it’s said with love and he wants only the best for me.  I continue to thank God for my true blessing, my dear husband.

It’s inevitable that MS will bring Many Surprises.  In order to be prepared for these surprises, I’ve learned the importance of being my own advocate, the importance to continually learn all I can about MS and its advancements, the importance to be compliant with my effective DMD,  the importance of physical therapy, the importance of securing a medical team I can trust, and the importance to accept the love and support from my husband, family and dear friends – my priceless gifts!

“Count Your Blessings”

9 Comments

  1. It’s so good that you have a family that is supportive….and a plan re your therapy etc… I am blessed also with a great family…who understands the fatigue and heat issues . My MS is and has been stabilized for a long time …. so I just roll with it so to speak… Sometimes the cognitive/memory issues bother me more than anything… but again..they’re not bad…. So I guess we both can count our blessings….Oh this week I did get a new scooter with help from our disability assistive devices program… it will help with those big malls that are a bit much to handle… Do you use one at all? Diane

    • Thank you for you post Diane! Your attitude is heart warming! I’m so happy you have a supportive family who completely understands your MS…truly blessings for sure! How do you manage your cognitive/memory issues? By now you have you new scooter to help with your shopping ventures. I currently don’t use a scooter and tend to plan my outings a little at a time. One day at a time for sure! Wishing you a wonderful New Year Diane! Catherine

      • Hi… Cognitive/memory frustrates me sometimes but I really have learned to just realize I’m not going to remember…. I laughingly said to my husband that he is not allowed to say to me… Do you remember when……. or who or what…. My legs are just weak and they feel like lead sometimes and especially if I have to do a lot of walking …hence the scooter for those times.. I don’t use it all the time but if you look at it as saving your energy for the things you need to… perhaps you might consider at some point getting one… Anyway…. take care and maybe see (talk) you next year ha!…Diane

      • Hi Diane, Thank you for your candid response. I feel your frustration, in many areas, and completely understand conserving energy! This could very well be a smart option before i know it. Do you take anything for your heavy legs? Stretches? PT? I have great benefits from them all. Look forward to talking to you in the “New Year!” 🙂

  2. Good post. My description of MS:
    Magical sorcerer

    A magical sorcerer lives in my head
    he swims through my body
    and fills me with dread

    A message is sent
    to my foot from my brain
    the sorcerer sends orders
    to my bladder to drain

    It seems I can’t stand
    when I want to get up
    the sorcerer has plans
    for breaking a cup

    This disease that I have
    it changes my life
    it does not define me
    or fill me with strife

    I am who I am
    no matter the name
    the magic I have
    is never the same

    The magical sorcerer
    is close every day
    a battle perhaps
    it does make me pay

    I will not give up
    I will not give in
    the magical sorcerer
    can simply not win

    The sun and the rain
    the fog and the moon
    my life will go forward
    it will not end soon

    Life with multiple sclerosis/magical sorcerer, it is a challenge.

    A magical sorcerer lives in my head
    he swims through my body
    and fills me with dread

    A message is sent
    to my foot from my brain
    the sorcerer sends orders
    to my bladder to drain

    It seems I can’t stand
    when I want to get up
    the sorcerer has plans
    for breaking a cup

    This disease that I have
    it changes my life
    it does not define me
    or fill me with strife

    I am who I am
    no matter the name
    the magic I have
    is never the same

    The magical sorcerer
    is close every day
    a battle perhaps
    it does make me pay

    I will not give up
    I will not give in
    the magical sorcerer
    can simply not win

    The sun and the rain
    the fog and the moon
    my life will go forward
    it will not end soon

    Life with multiple sclerosis/magical sorcerer, it is a challenge.

  3. Sorry I don’t know how that happened! It won’t let me delete! So sorry!

    • Quiall – What a beautiful poem! Did you compose? Don’t worry about the deleting issue. Truly worth the second read! Thank you for sharing!!!

      • Yes I wrote the poem in response to something someone I know said. He felt that calling MS a Magical Sorcerer gave him more control. I’m glad you liked it.

  4. So beautiful Quiall! You are truly gifted friend! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

