Suzy Homemaker ~ The Quest Continues

My goal, sometimes torture, to fine-tune my cooking and baking skills continue.  Over the holidays, we enjoyed an extended visit from my in-laws.  A passion of Mom2 (my mother-in-law’s salutation) is, you guessed it – cooking and baking!  And boy, she is a good cook and baker. I was primed for a learning venture, live, right here in our home!  Let the class begin!

FCake1Fruitcake.  I know the mere mention of the word fruitcake often provokes an instant response of, “no thank you!”  Rest assured, this family treasure and tradition is exactly what my husband looks forward to receiving in the mail each and every year! His beloved mother never disappoints!

The moment was here…time for me to observe and take good notes for my husband’s favorite fruitcake.  I just hope I’ll be able to duplicate.  Yikes!

FCake2Like most people, I never, ever tried fruitcake.  Just didn’t appeal to me, no chocolate after all.  I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor, texture and moisture of this fruitcake.  You’ll note below, the ingredients are rather healthy in comparison to your typical fruitcake recipe.  I quickly enjoyed a slice with a soothing cup of hot tea. Perfect treat!

Mom2 kindly provided the Dried Fruitcake recipe for your baking enjoyment.  The most time-consuming portion for this fruitcake will be preparing your dried fruits.  Lots of cutting.  So grab your baking buddy and enjoy some good ol fellowship and fun!  You may find yourself pleasantly surprised too!  My husband couldn’t wait to dig in!  A new family tradition just might be in the making!  Enjoy!FCake3

“Count Your Blessings”

DRIED FRUITCAKE

2 C dried apples finely chopped

1-6 oz package dried apricots chopped, about 1 1/2 cups

1-8 oz package pitted dates chopped

1 C each currants, raisins and walnuts

1/2 C apple juice or apple cider

1 C sugar

1 C butter

6 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 t baking powder

1 T cinnamon

1 t each of nutmeg, allspice

1-10 oz can of unsweetened apple sauce

Mix fruit, nuts and apple juice or cider; let stand one hour. Cream sugar and butter. Add eggs, one at a time; beating well after each. Stir together dry ingredients. Add to creamed mixture alternately with the applesauce. Stir in fruit.  Pour into three greased bread pans and bake at 300 degrees for about 90 minutes.  You can also us a 10 inch tube pan greased and bake it at 300 for two hours. Cool; remove from pan. If desired, wrap in brandy soaked cheesecloth and foil.  The credit for this goes to Sidney Teske, Lund, NV

8 Comments

  1. Ms. Suzy Home Maker… you are the most darling lady ever. Beautiful AND you can bake? I’m jealous. 🙂

    • Pushing those happy buttons on a Monday morn! There’s hope for all Suzy Homemaker quests! Talk about journies! Enjoy your day!

  2. I think this home-made fruitcake would be a lot different than bought in a store… Diane

    • You’re so right! I know I was hesitant to try, but was so glad I did! 🙂

  3. p.s. I bet you wanted to use your ‘easy bake oven’…ha! Diane

    • You crack me up, Diane!!! Stay warm and enjoy your day!

  4. Stephanie Thorpe

    Perhaps you should say, “…a new family tradition just might be in the baking.” 🙂

    • Steph…you might be on to something! 😉 We enjoyed Mom and Dad’s visit! So sorry the weather didn’t cooperate for us to see you and the family! Spring is a coming!

Leave a Reply

