“because I said I would”

Isn’t it amazing how some people have such a profound impact on your life?  One special lady did just that.  We first met at work nearly ten years ago.  We primarily worked together at MS Patient Programs.  As a nurse, she provided the medical aspect for patients and their families while I shared the patient living with and experiencing the challenges of MS.  I must admit, we were a perfect pair on a quest to help and inspire in any way we could.

We recently met for lunch where we talked for hours.  Funny how we didn’t see each other for a couple of months but once reconnected, we picked up right where we left off.  I really enjoyed our visit and conversations.

Susan shared with me an inspirational story about a young man who tragically lost his father from small cell lung cancer.  This proud son began a non-profit, social movement in honor of his father.  “because I said I would” was born.  Founder and son Alex Sheen reflects:

Like any son, I wanted to remember the best of my father, but he was nothing particularly press worthy. He wasn’t an award winning author. He never met the President. He was no war hero. But what my dad did do was keep a promise.  If he said he was going to do it, it would certainly be done. Too often we make promises, little and big, that we do not honor. It becomes easy to say “I’ll get to it” or “tomorrow.” I want to remember my Dad and the promises he kept. I want to help others remember their commitments. I handed out promise cards for the first time at his funeral.”

becauseisaidiwould.com

becauseisaidiwould.com

His premise is to encourage positive change and promote genuine acts of kindness. Use the cards to remember the importance of your words, your promises, and as a reminder to stick to your commitments, “because I said I would.”

Pause for a moment and think about what your words mean at any given time. Are they simply words, sincere thoughts or promises?  What is your “because I said I would” statement?  Jot it down and stick to your commitment.

Enjoy and be inspired by one young man’s tribute to his father:  http://becauseisaidiwould.com/ted/

“Count Your Blessings”

2 Comments

  1. Great story… I watched the video… what a beautiful concept. I’m going to print off some cards from his facebook site link … Diane

    • Glad you enjoyed Diane! I was excited to watch the video when I came home! Dad raised a wonderful son who’s impacting the lives of many! Refreshing! I like the card idea. Stay warm and have a great weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

