Running the Race of Life

I received a phone call this morning from my neurologist office, “Good Morning, we need to cancel your scheduled appointment for today.”  “We’ll call back to reschedule as soon as we clarify time frame with your doctor.”  Despite my disappointment, I really couldn’t be mad.  After all, the birth of your baby girl really is a good reason for cancelling appointments!   🙂

1 corinthians 9 24This whole scenario caused me to pause and think about my devotion earlier…Running the Race of Life.

A few weeks ago, I had my six-month checkup with my neurologist.  Following his exam, it was time for my list of questions to be addressed.  There have been some changes since my last visit and “Type A” here needed to understand what was going on.  Is this MS or something else?  One problem, my neurologist was not interested in entertaining my concerns until we had a current MRI of the brain, spine and labs to review.  Fair enough.  Let the race begin!

To run any race, it’s always good to have a plan of action, a route to follow so to speak.  I completed my MRIs and lab work and ready for my visit, so I thought.  Old man winter paid another visit and left eight more inches of snow!   I was rescheduled for today, however, his precious baby decided to make an early entrance!  I’m so sure my neurologist and his family are enjoy their new blessing! Such a happy time!

To complete the race, we need inspiration and encouragement.  I found myself sulking and depressed to some degree.  I wanted to discuss my results and findings so my husband and I could understand my current status and process expectations going forward.  The key word here was I not He.  Wow!  What I was forgetting was the need to revisit being patient and embrace His will and timing here, not mine.  My husband kindly reminds me of these facts – my encourager.

During each race, we will encounter detours and bumps in the road.  The uncertainty of these obstacles are often very challenging and unclear.  One thing remains true, His plan for us is unchanged.  Each detour is an opportunity to tap into that plan of action and follow our respective routes as He strengthens us each and every step of the way.  He won’t disappoint as we finish running the race of life, receiving the ultimate prize ~

“Count Your Blessings”

4 Comments

  1. It is good to remember ‘our plans’ vs ‘His plans’ but I guess sometimes it’s harder for us because we can’t see the whole picture like He can… Diane

    • Hardest lesson Diane…but I’m a good student like you. I just want that “whole picture” now! lol! Stay warm and enjoy your day! 🙂

  2. Yes. But running the race, with it’s many detours, can get so discouraging. I can so relate to your frustrations over the delays. One day, He will show us all the reasons. Until then…… 😌

Leave a Reply

