Fast Forward ~

The snow has finally subsided with the temperatures reaching a balmy 46 degrees.  I was finally able to meet my son for lunch before he headed to work.  Happy Day!!!  My young, 24-year-old, pulled into the parking lot of Applebee’s as planned.  It was just a little before 11 am so we had some time to visit before the restaurant opened.

Cory Blog2This was the perfect opportunity for me to share special mementos I found while attempting to organize my scrap boxes!  It was his high school basketball program I made for his team. He clearly remembered as he smiled while looking through the pages.  My excitement continued as I revealed my “beautiful” template creations used for copying.  These pages literally resembled paper doll cutouts of each player and their “abouts”, quotes and embellishments and plenty of white out scattered throughout!   Despite being technologically challenged, his basketball program was a true work of love from this Mom!

Cory BlogFast forward. The host promptly seated us in a booth along the window.  We placed our orders and continued with our conversation, not skipping a beat. I paid close attention as my son talked about his job, aspirations and everyday life.  I listened intently and beamed knowing he was sorting, figuring out and defining the next chapter of his adult life.  Not always easy, is it?

Just like managing MS, you have to sort and try different options, find that good fit and move forward.  I sometimes wonder what my life would be like without MS.  The truth may be that it wouldn’t be much different.  The love and pride a mother feels for her children doesn’t change.  MS cannot take that away from me.

Nearly three hours later, our wonderful visit was nearing an end.  The goal of this mother was to raise good, productive young men.  He’s accomplishing just that.  One day, one step at a time.  I know he’ll be just fine.  I’ve been so blessed that God entrusted me to mother our boys, my priceless gifts!

“Count Your Blessings”

7 Comments

  1. Susan Clark Denny

    Warm, happy feelings!

    • Indeed! You can appreciate the feelings of a Mom! 🙂

  2. It must have been so special.. to spend that time just ‘hangin out’…. Diane

    • Perfect, Diana! He lives 45 minutes away. I’m so grateful when we have time together to hand out and catch up…live! 🙂

  3. Beautiful, I loved reading this and couldn’t agree with you more❤️🙏

  4. Glad you were able to have lunch together and a long visit. Hope there are many more in the future. Isn’t having sons wonderful?!

    • Thank you! We’re trying to do this each month! I truly loved the one-on-one time and to hear all about his life! We love these boys, don’t we!?!

Leave a Reply

