Hollywood Meets MS

Who would have thought I’d be preparing to begin training with an Iron Man prototype, Lokomat.  Lokomat is a cutting-edge, robotic machine used to assist patients who cannot or struggle to walk. The goal of this amazing machine is to retrain the central nervous system and learn to walk again. Do I hear Amen to that?!?                                         

I’ve really been struggling with my walking for the past year.  What I used to take for granted now is a daily challenge.  Focused walking, striving to apply what I learned in PT with, how do I put it? Frustration some days!  But, there’s always good news…options!

I am forever grateful for my PT, Jen.  Her never-ending care and concern for her patients just warms my heart!  She continues to recommend options that might help.  My difference maker! Be educated and enjoy the Lokomat in action at Bryn Mawr Rehab.  Feel free to ask any questions you might have!

I’m certainly not a super hero with a quest to crush evil.  I am an advocate for myself, valuing the tools and potentials available to crush my gait challenges and strive to walk normally again.  Stay tuned…

“Count Your Blessings”

14 Comments

  1. Sending you blessings of Reiki energy, Catherine! Your positive attitude is an inspiration to all of us and our daily struggles.

    • Thank you Paula! Appreciate your kind words! Each of us taking one day at a time! 🙂 Enjoy your day!

  2. You go girlfriend!!

    • 🙂 Thank you friend. Means a lot!

  3. Very interesting … hope it helps you to gain or retain mobility…. Diane

    • Talk about advancements Diane. Thank you for your well-wishes! How are you feeling?

      • I see you read my post so I guess you know some … I do have another test booked for April 16 which may give some information.. The other isn’t booked yet…. Just a slow process because of wait times for tests etc. Alas ’tis the way… Diane

      • All good things do take time…I hope this will bring about answers for you Diane!

  4. Oh Catherine, I wish you good luck with this. Am at the hospital now with my brother-in-law fighting pressure sores, so I applaud your hard work to keep mobile. Sending you good wishes and prayers.

    • Thank you Cathy! You truly are such a blessing to your brother-in-law. I worked in plastic/reconstructive surgery and managed pressure sores. Not an easy place to be for patient and their loved ones. Great big hugs for you and your brother-in-law Cathy. You are their difference maker and beloved family member! 🙂

  5. Susan Clark Denny

    How cool! Wonderful that you have access to this type of tool!

    • Looking forward to see if retraining is possible. I’ll investigate to see if there is one in your area! Love ya girl!

  6. What an awesome contraption!

    • Talk about advancements! 🙂

Leave a Reply

