The Many Surprises of MS ~

It was back to PT today as I strive to resume our regular schedule following our road trip. I had my game face on and ready to face my opponent once again, Wii Fit Soccer. Funny how circumstances tend to paint a different picture.

Every PT visit begins with your typical questions: How are you feeling? Are there any problems or concerns? My responses have been rather benign, except for this past month. I’ve been really struggling with managing some symptoms that simply don’t want to improve despite my hard work. One huge obstacle has been my hip flexor. This flexor is responsible for lifting my knee. It just won’t strengthen after several years of specific exercises, hence, I’m not able to lift my knee.  At this point, I don’t think this will happen.  Maybe that’s the message He’s been trying to convey to me.  I remain prayerful for strength and clarity here.

I also presented with a newer symptom, a curled great toe. Not the best when trying to walk I tell you! Rather frustrating and makes my other symptoms look like a walk in the park. Upon discussing my recent history, exam and noted triggers, Jen believes this is most likely tone/spasticity kicking in. I can relieve this symptom with more stretching. Needless to say, Wii Soccer was not an option today…darn!!!  lol!

Our focus was to work on strengthening my weakened leg and abs. Fine tuning, if you will, my at home regimen. We incorporated the balance stability ball to help. I just love it. The ball does a nice job supporting my legs while I do my exercises. It is my hope and prayer that I continue to be dedicated and determined to perform these daily exercises and gain optimal strength.

Tuesday, we’re heading down to John Hopkins MS Center for my yearly checkup, review of my MRI and to hear any recommendations my neuro may make.  Wednesday, I’ll see Jen to discuss PT recommendations from my appointment at John Hopkins. One day, one step at a time for sure. Trusting God has a plan here and is hard at work. Could He maybe hurry a little?  My selfishness does appear from time to time.

Every day truly is a work in progress when you’re managing such an unpredictable disease. MS brings Many Surprises for sure. How will I handle what is dealt my way? I will confidently face this opponent knowing He will provide the strength that I need to see me through.

I pause to reflect on the truth of this verse: Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)

“Count Your Blessings”

5 Comments

  1. Kudos my friend. Attitude makes all the difference. You go girl!

    • Thank you for your words of encouragement! 🙂 Enjoy your day!

    • You’re the best! I’m so grateful for our blogging friendship! 🙂

  2. Keep up the hardwork, I know it can be frustrating but your very strong😃

Leave a Reply

