“Food Babe” Investigates Your Food

Do you like your yoga mat?  The convenience of shoe soles?  How about a Subway sandwich?  I appreciate all three.  You just might change your mind after reading the investigations from the Food Babe, Vani Hari.

I had an appointment today with my massage therapist.  Once a month, she performs a therapeutic massage on my MS affected leg – loosening my spasticity, stretching and getting the toxins a moving.  I always enjoy the wealth of information and ideas shared.  Today was no different.

I was completely intrigued by our discussion about chemicals used to make popular foods like Subway sandwiches.  What I find completely amazing is that harmful chemicals are permitted to be used to make our food.   The FDA and our government obviously have no problems with this.

foodbabe.com

Upon arriving home, you bet I immediately fired up the computer.  Let the research begin.  The results found on Food Babe’s blog were rather appalling. I am grateful there are advocates out there investigating and reporting their findings.  By doing so, we can make good, educated decisions on what to eat.  This time, it’s not about choices for  MS, but for our food.  Unbelievable.  What is happening here?  Does anyone have a sense of accountability?  To do what’s right?  I wonder how some people sleep at night?  I know I couldn’t.

Below you’ll find a recent article that previously aired on CNN, The Lead with Jake Tapper, regarding Food Babe’s investigation of Subway sandwiches.  Her outreach is prevailing.  Check out her blog for additional food investigations: http://foodbabe.com/about-me/  If you’re like me, you’ll definitely be surprised.  I now know which goodies I definitely will avoid!  How about you?

“Count Your Blessings” 

*The above post is solely my opinion only.  You may or may not agree with these statements.

Meet the ‘food babe’ who helped convince Subway to remove chemical from bread

(CNN) – Food blogger Vani Hari wanted to know if she was actually “eating fresh” when comping down on Subway sandwiches. But she was in for a rude awakening.

“What I found out was horrifying,” Hari said in an interview with CNN’s “The Lead with Jake Tapper.

Hari found some varieties of Subway’s bread contain the chemical azodicarbonamide. Besides bread, the chemical is also found in yoga mats and shoe soles to add elasticity.

“I found out the World Health Organization has linked it to lung problems, skin irritation, and eye irritation. And as well as finding the study that shows when it’s heated, it can reduce down into compounds that are carcinogenic, things that cause cancer,” said Hari.

Hari wrote about her findings back in 2012, and started a petition to pressure Subway to stop using what she says is a dangerous chemical. She even filmed a video o

2 Comments

  1. Wow! Who knew?!

  2. Exactly right Brooke! Scarey! Have a good weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

