Exercise…Keep a Moving!

Exercise! What’s your routine? We all know the importance and benefits of exercise for one’s health, however, sometimes this is easier said than done.  The pace of every day life and circumstances may find you taking that unexpected vacation or simply chose not to exercise.

The health benefits of regular exercise are hard to ignore. From weight loss, to preventing or managing a wide-range of health problems or concerns, to getting those happy endorphins (your brain’s feel-good chemicals) a flowing and to building stamina and boosting energy. So many good reasons to keep moving.

blog snoppy2What keeps me dedicated to my exercise regimen? Strength! I’ve learned and value the  importance of a strong body while managing multiple sclerosis. Sometimes, the Many Surprises of MS are ever-changing. My recent road blocks, halting my exercises, have placed me on the injured reserve list.

Frustration sets in as I notice the definite weakening of my muscles. For me, it all starts with maintaining my stabilizing force – the abdomen. Strong abs are essential for upper body functions, critical for proper walking, balance issues, and lessening aches and pains of all regions. That’s my great list of motivators.

Let the research begin. I knew there had to be some form of exercises I could do, even a modified version, to try to maintain some strength, range of motion, etc., without using my feet. Eventually, I managed to find that perfect fit, a YouTube video, Paul Eugene’s Chair Aerobics – Strength. He offers an appropriate routine for me right now…with a twist of humor. I couldn’t wait for my husband to get home to show him what I found. We both smiled as we viewed his workout and found ourselves jamming in our seats while getting ready for his exercise countdowns: “That’s right! Four…Three…Two…” Check him out and you’ll understand where I’m coming from here: http://youtu.be/qOQPNby1dMA

What’s my bottom line on exercise and physical activities? Find exercises or activities that you enjoy, you’ll be more apt to do them. Reap all the health benefits from your hard work, you will easily see the difference. Most importantly, HAVE FUN! There is something out there that’s just right for you, exactly where you are and what your capabilities allow!

Have a blessed weekend!

“Count Your Blessings”

Before beginning any exercise routine or physical activities, please seek permission for your doctor.

8 Comments

  1. Thanks for the video – the exercises are very doable. Good find!

    • Glad you liked Heidi! His positive attitude is a bonus for me! Hope you’re feeling better each and every day! 🙂

  2. Yoga and a walk in my woods, everyday…. sun, rain, snow, sleet, or hail! Sending this to my sister as she loves snoopy and jogging! XOXOX Paula

    • Good for you Paula. There’s something refreshing with different elements doing what we love! This was a good snoopy clip that I’m sure she’ll love! You’re a great sister to think of her! Hugs GF!

  3. I really like the video… I was just saying to my husband yesterday that I needed to find exercises that I can do in a chair…. Diane

    • Talk about a “feel good” video. He really made me smile with his energy and obvious passion for what he was doing. A good fit for sure! You’ll be rockin’ your home before you know it…husband just might do the same! 🙂 Enjoy your day Diane!

  4. The title of this post could be the answer to a lot of things that we as a society are dealing with. 🙂

    • Completely agree with a fresh, happy spirit! Perfect fit here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

