And So the Venture Begins…

We recently watched a TED talk video featuring Dr. Terry Wahls, Minding Your Mitochondria. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLjgBLwH3Wc . This talk depicted the journey of a calm, very smart physician who was diagnosed with MS in 2000.  She quickly advanced to secondary progressive multiple sclerosis (SPMS) in 2003, finding herself wheelchair bound.

Facing her discouraging prognosis, no doubt her medical wheels began to churn. She decided to “fix her broken biochemistry” * with food. Results following one year of using dietary strategies? “First, she walked slowly, then steadily, and then she biked 18 miles in a single day.” * Her determination while enduring such hardships inspired me.

terrywahls.com

terrywahls.com

I found myself very curious and needed to learn more. I purchased her book, The Wahls Protocol. This book is jam-packed with science, nutritional information and step by step recommendations. And so the venture begins.

I’ll be finishing my second week Sunday. There are three protocols (beginners, intermediate and challenging) options to follow. I choose to do Level Two, Wahls Paleo. My husband has joined my venture to support my efforts. What a blessing! Dr. Wahls recommends if you have a significant, chronic illness, this is a good place to start. She projects patients may begin to see improvement as early as one month through one year. I remain hopeful but understand I’ve been diagnosed for 14 years now.  This may take some time to reverse my symptoms.

Dedication…Determination…Disciplined will be my focus.

This venture is indeed in the Lord’s hands. I know He’ll strengthen and guide me each day.  Stay tuned for updates!

“Count Your Blessings”

* Terry Wahls, MD, (2014). The Wahls Protocol How I Beat MS Using Paleo Principles and Functional Medicine.  Penguin Group, LLC

7 Comments

  1. All the best with your venture. For me Dr a Terry Whals and that TED talk was the start of my ongoing journey to good health and it has been and remains am amazing one and the reason I started to blog. She has recently been featured on a mind body green talk here. http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-14451/how-i-went-from-wheelchair-to-walking-by-changing-my-diet-dr-terry-wahls.html

    • Thank you Tabitha! I enjoyed your posts on Dr. Wahls. True inspiration for many. You do a fantastic job with your blog. Looking forward to checking our your reference. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  2. I will watch your progress with anticipation. I know you will do well, you have the spirit.

    • Thank you GF! You’re the best! Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing this amazing video Catherine. I teach people this Whole Food Eating & Living everyday and this video is an awesome one I will share everywhere!

    Hugs to you and eat well. Paula

    • Thank you Paula! Truly amazing story. Thank you for reaching out and educating many on the how to’s, etc. I registered for the summit and look forward to hearing/seeing you present! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

