Bump in the Road…

Have you ever noticed the bumps in the road we face can help us to step back and consciously think about our choices?  These bumps often interrupt our every day routines, hamper our activities and quiet frankly may be rather frustrating.  The good ol bumps may actually be an opportunity to learn, grow and just might be a blessing in disguise.

I’m currently experience just that with my neurologist.  I’ve been having significant pain of my lower back.  He ordered a lumbar MRI to rule out herniated disc issues.

To my surprise, I received a phone call from his nurse with the results:

Nurse:  “The doctor says your lumbar MRI is unchanged from previous study.”

Me:  “I never had a lumbar MRI before!”  “He must have looked at my MRIs of the brain and spine, they’ve been unchanged for years now.”

Nurse:  “That’s his note.” “This is not MS related, consult your family physician.”

Me:  “What?!?”  “I need him to call to discuss this further please.”  “This makes no sense to me!”

Needless to say, no phone call has been received from him.  Numerous phone messages left with his nurse.  One major bump in the road, choices and decisions to be made and yes, just might be a blessing in disguise.

We’re often working hard to obtain our goals.  For me, I want to be as optimal as possible.  I rely on my medical team to help me reach realistic goals, nothing more, nothing less.  It’s up to us to ensure that happens.

So now what?  Remember there are always choices and options available to explore to reach our individual goals. This bump reinforces the importance of advocacy and the need to stop and evaluate my goals. Sadly, I must change neurologist.  He’s a brilliant man, however, we need someone who has the time to communicate and provide recommendations along the way.

Bumps in the road are part of life, that’s not going to change. However, the importance of choices we make and directions we choose to take are ever present.  What will you do with your bumps in the road?  They may be blessings in disguise.

“Count Your Blessings”

10 Comments

  1. I’m sorry you’re experiencing an even bumpier road, Catherine. Praying for you.

    • It’s a okay Bill! Thank you for your kind words and prayers!!! Wishing you and your family a wonderful fall!

  2. Catherine,

    I am encouraged by your words and my heart truly goes out to you. My husband just had two MRI’s – lumbar and cervical – they discovered every disk is bulging but two, plus an array of other more serious issues. He began edidural injections this week. But more importantly we continue to seek and trust God with his healing and recovery. What else can we do but place all our faith and hope in Almighty God?! All our help comes from Him!

    God bless you.

    Jennifer

    • Lol *epidural not edidural 🙂

    • Morning Jennifer,

      Thank you for your kind words of encouragement! So sorry to read about your husband’s back. I can appreciate what he (and you) are going through right now. It is my prayer that these injections bring him comfort and relief. You warmed my heart as I read “we continue to seek and trust God with his healing and recovery…” Ah, Amen to that. How can we manage without Him!?!

      Blessings Jennifer

  3. AnonMS Blogger

    “This bump reinforces the importance of advocacy and the need to stop and evaluate my goals.” Yes, patient advocacy! I’ve learned more over the last year than I wished I knew about advocacy, including the balance between questioning/gently pushing your physician and taking extreme measures to make sure your health concerns are addressed (including changing physicians when need be). We’re all human and even our physicians have limitations, but we are the only ones that truly know when we need to push harder for information/responses/testing/etc. based on how we feel and our intimate knowledge of our own medical history. Best of luck to you.

    • Well said! This was a tough decision. I’m a huge proponent of advocacy. Important for me to be able to communicate with my physicians and have questions entertained and options/recommendations provided. Team work with goals in mind. Physician limitations – you’re so right. I know he’s extremely busy with his practice, hospital rounds and a teaching professor of neurology. Plate is full. Very proud of you for becoming your own advocate! Be well friend!

  4. Finding a doctor who will give you the attention that you deserve is a daunting task, but when you are successful, the effort is so worth it! Best wishes to you, I hope that your back pain is soon a distant memory, and that you make the most out of the road bump!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Finding that good fit, not perfect, is optimal for sure. Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

