“The Balance of Life Regained”

Have you every watched a video or read an article that completely made you smile, even tear up at times?  I recently did just that.

You know how much I value the benefits I received from my BalanceWear Vest.  I really am so happy to educate anyone about how this vest could help them too.  If my PT didn’t discuss this tool with me, you can rest assured I’d still be up close and personal with the floor, more than I’d like!

A family member recently began PT for balance issues, namely, falling and unsteady gait.  I was excited to discuss with them that perhaps they just might have some relief with BalanceWear too.  He asked his PT and was promptly advised, “he didn’t have leg issues so he wouldn’t benefit from the vest.”  Needless to say, I professed, “False!”  “You need to read their website!” **

Education and awareness is paramount!  Frustrated with this response, I reached out to Cindy Gibson-Horn, PT, at Motion Therapeutics, who contacted Dad’s PT department.  She was able to share the many benefits patients have experience with this amazing tool.  She even invited the PT’s to attend a training seminar being held shortly at the University of Virginia.  PTs in attendance will learn the necessary protocol to access and fit patients for BalanceWear, as well as, instantly see the benefits this vest can provides for most patients!  Cindy is completely dedicated to helping patients be optimal.  Refreshing, isn’t it?  As a patient, do you get the sense that I’m forever grateful?

Allow me to share with you a patient whose life has been forever changed while wearing her vest. Donna’s Story:  The Balance of Life Regained.  You might want to grab a few tissues for your viewing pleasure.  Her smiles and sheer joy will warm your heart too!

 “I’m so grateful that some one has put so much of their life
into trying to give the life to some else!”    Donna’s Story

 

Advocacy.  Ask questions.  Learn everything you can to be optimal.  Find what will work for you! You’ll never know until you try!

Enjoy your weekend!

“Count Your Blessings”

**  For more information and additional videos, please visit http://www.motiontherapeutics.com/, their blog: http://balancewear.wordpress.com/ or facebook: BalanceWear Stabilizing Garment

8 Comments

  1. Jill

    Way to go GF to educate those PTs out there about the vest! I too have tried by giving them the information about it. We need to educate more MSers about it as well so they can pressure their clienticians as well! Kudos to you!

    • Your never-ending dedication to help patients, in any way you can, simply makes me smile GF! You continue to touch many lives bringing about awareness while providing a caring, concerned spirit! Means so much to many…that includes me! Love you girl!

  2. What a touching story. Living alone has to be such a challenge especially with her disability.. but what a wonderful gift she has now been given… Diane

    • Instant smiles and a few tears Diane! She now gets to enjoy the simple pleasures of life like you, her art! Make it a great day friend! 🙂

  3. T

    I did not know there was such a thing! a year ago I had knee surgery on both knees and then again in April on the right knee again. Arthritis has deteriorated my knees so bad and in a year I have totally lost my sense of stability. I go up stairs like the lady in the picture and just cringe at the smallest little bump or incline in the ground and if someone bumps into me I almost fall down. Its been really hard and scary that all this has happened in just a years time. Anyway thanks so much for sharing this video, I am going to check into this and see if it is available where I live.

    • Morning T, Thank you for sharing! The instability, confidence issues with our balance brings can be rather challenging. I am forever grateful for this tool allowing me to do what I love again. The peace and serenity of my flower beds. My husband and I joke now, “without our son’s football helmet!” Talk about painting a picture here! On their website, they have a map showing if there is a certified PT available for accessing and fitting you for the vest. If not, feel free to reach out to Cindy Gibson-Horn under contact info. I know I did and was amazed at her advice and direction for my area! Like me, I was grateful someone brought this vest to my attention!
      Keep up the great work and smile T!

  4. Thanks again for visiting our Blog Catherine and for your encouragement, I was very blessed by Donna’s Story and her Joy and can imagine how wonderful it must be for you too, I must let my Niece know about the vest, as I shared before she has M.S too.

    I remember how frightened I was at first when they told me that I would be a Paraplegic by the time I was 60, I was 40 at the time, I pushed it to the back of my mind, although each year I had to have a Lumber Spine ex- ray to see how far it had advanced but the chronic Arthritic condition disappeared and it has now been confirmed by 3 Doctors that I’m not going to be Paraplegic, how amazingly Loving our God is.

    I remember also how helpless I felt when I slipped a few times on dogs wee and landed on the floor like Donna use to, one time I sat there for two hours on the cold floor in winter, yes my dogs loved my being on the same level as them and I got licked all over my face non stop but you can be sure I was not Happy Clappy! somehow I managed to crawl up on a lounge chair which was not easy and took a long time but I would have been there all day if I hadn’t as Ron was away.

    Both these happenings made me think about people like Donna and you and those who are now Paraplegics and I have not stopped giving heart felt thanks to God for His continued mercy and intervention in my life. I Thank you too Catherine and people like you who have compassion and take the time to let those in need know they can be helped, you all have very caring and kind hearts.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    • Anne, your thoughtful comment and wonderful attitude, despite difficult trials, inspire and made my day! 🙂 God always has a plan and takes us exactly where He needs us to be, perfectly as we are! Is that awesome or what!?!

      I’m so happy you were inspired by Donna’s video! Simple pleasures and joy of God’s provision! I hear your smiles too as you beautifully shared your successful journey and heart felt thanks for all God does in your life! 🙂 Pushing my happy buttons right here!

      Keep impacting the lives of many each and every day just by simply being you! I know you make mine!

      Blessings Anne,

      Catherine

Leave a Reply

