One day at a time…

We’re back!  Last time I wrote, I was rather frustrated with my troubled computer, little did I know that was the easiest to fix. My husband surprised me with a replacement! Perfect!

I truly know oh so well when it rains, sometimes it pours. And boy, we were experiencing a torrential downpour.

Long story short, I started with an abdominal abscess and low-grade fever. Six weeks and two procedures later, the culprit was revealed. Are you ready for this, a “non-dissolved suture” trapped in scar tissue. That’s right, from the birth of my son, c-section, 25 years ago! Are you kidding me!?!

During this venture, my father-in-law presented to the ER down south (seven hours away) with cardiac failure. They proceeded to replace his damaged valve. Currently, he’s doing extremely well with his tune up.  Whew!

Shortly thereafter, we received a phone call from our eldest.  Our son had another seizure while driving. Praising God that no one was hurt! This could have been a lot worse! He was able to secure new medication to control his seizure activity (so far, so good) and seems to be doing a okay. As a young man, 25, he’s quite anxious to get his independence back and not have to rely on others for transportation…patience first!

The good news is this, everything seems to be under control, for now! 🙂 I’m back to PT and working hard to rebuild lost strength. I continue to be amazed at how quickly muscle mass is lost when you’re under the weather! Time to get back into my daily routine, including blogging, one day at a time! It’s a beautiful thing!

Enjoy your day and remember to count our many blessings!

20 Comments

  1. I’ve been wondering where you’ve been…..You’ve been through such a lot as a family…. Glad all is okay… Diane

    • Thank you for your kind words Diane! Couldn’t be happier that all is well with our family! Every day is a gift, isn’t it! Hope all is well with you too! Looking forward to catching up! 🙂

  2. You were missed. Glad things are on the mend, all round! Sending good thoughts your way.(:D)-

    • Thank you so much for your good thoughts! Hoping all is well with you in your neck of the woods and that the weather isn’t to bad! 🙂

      • The weather is perfect here inside my apartment. I am not leaving it until March!

      • and that ground hog here in the states didn’t see his shadow…right there with you! 🙂 Stay Warm!!!

  3. Susan Clark Denny

    Love you, GF!

    • Ditto! Nice to hear your voice the other day! Stay warm!!!

  4. Jill Wismer

    That’s my girl! Takes more than a 25 year old stitch to hold my GF down eh? So glad things are going so much better. One day at a time as they say, its always darkest before the dawn. Before we know it warmer weather will be here and our day lilies will be blooming again! PTL for answered prayer on behalf of my dear friend. {{{hugs GF}}} love ya

    • Thank you GF! So true with taking one day at a time…and you’re right, before you know it, our lilies will be blooming! Thank you for prayers, phone calls and never ending support! He knew what he was doing bring us together through our boys! Love ya girl!

  5. Hi Cathy, Happy New Year & I’m sorry about the things you have had going on, the unbelievable about the suture. I’m glad your feeling better & Thank God your son is ok. It was great to hear from you & look forward to catching up. Stay strong, positive & healthy. Miss you, Chris😘

    • Hi Chris ~ thank you for your kind words and encouragement! Hope the kids are doing well and you’re getting settled into your new home! 🙂

  6. Wow. What a story! Glad things are looking up!

    • Thank you! Hope you’re doing well too! 🙂

  7. Woah, Cat, that is such an inspirational story. I’m so glad you and your family are more awesome as a result of conquering this ordeal and emerging victorious!

    • Thank you for visiting and your kind words tsizzle! One day at a time! 🙂

  8. The Storms that life brings can be very turbulent as you shared Catherine, we too have been going through a heavy down pour with Ron being diagnosed with Cancer just before Christmas and I had a accident not long after and believe me if I had not had my Faith in a Loving God during the Stormy Seas of the last 7 years, I would be lost in despair now but during that time God gave me His word’s of Love, which I may have shared with you before but when reading your ups and downs today I felt it in my heart to share them with you again.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Christian Love Always – Anne

  9. Oh Anne, you’re truly managing the Storms of life. I hope and pray that your husband’s cancer prognosis is favorable. I trust you are feeling better following your accident, PTL!
    I am very grateful for the sharing of His word – priceless to me. 🙂 Be well and thank you for your kind words and visit! Blessings to you and your husband Anne. Catherine

  10. Oh Catherine, so glad to see you are back! Although it sounds like a really rough road you’ve been on….I’m so happy you are all healing. Blessings to you all and take good care of yourself.

    • Thank you Cath! You know oh so well how each day is an adventure! 🙂 So nice to see your smile!

Leave a Reply

