Tackling My “To Do” List

I began tackling my to do list as recommended by my neurologist. Let my full time job, I mean journey, continue! 🙂

Off to PT for my eval. I’ve been a patient here, as needed, for nearly four years. My physical therapist does an awesome job providing me with education, recommendations for appropriate exercises and tools, while encouraging me every step of the way. What I love about my PT is she specializes in Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson’s disease physical therapy. She truly understands what I’m facing.

First, my BalanceWear Vest. My balance has been really off lately and as suspected, I needed weight adjustments.  I always crack up when my PT says, “time to push you around!” 🙂 This technique is used to help identify your balance deficits. Sure enough, some weights were moved throughout my vest with the addition of more. I smiled as I zipped up my vest. I felt stable and grounded again! Success!

The rest of my eval revealed weakness of the right side. I wasn’t surprised with these findings but was anxious to learn about specific exercises. I’m a huge proponet to be as strong as I can be. I’ve learned and valued the importance of strength before a relapse, illness, etc., appear. Don’t know about you, but when these examples happen, it literally depletes my muscles. Our game plan is to attend PT two times a week for two months. Hard work, yes, but so worth it! Trying to stay one step ahead.

One of the biggest benefits to my PT are the wonderful therapy dogs and their owners. These furry friends (nearly 40 strong) bring smiles and brighten the day of all patients!   Simple pleasures of life!

As the weekend approaches, it is my hope and prayer that you are surround with your simple pleasures of life, doing what brings you joy while being the very best you can be too!

“Count Your Blessings”

 

 

5 Comments

  1. I agree Cath we seek to be as strong as we can be, for me that includes physically too but my main focus is Spiritually, I mostly seek to live one day at a time and not worry but look ahead with Joy to coming Home as I work towards my Heavenly rewards, which is something I cannot do without The Holy Spirit empowering me.

    I very much appreciate how God gave us Animals not only to enjoy as food but also to work for us and to help us and yes for us to Love and cuddle too and I Love my doggies who have brought me great joy and companionship over the years, cats too and birds.

    Cath would you please share some more about the dogs who help you, I would like to do a Post about our caring doggies, they need to be commended and especially their Trainers who with great patience have made it possible for them to help those in need.

    I will be praying for you Cath as you tackle your full time job, I mean journey.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    • Thank you for our wonderful post! Did you ever have times when God continues to confirm here on earth that He’s talking to you? I often do! Your last two comments have made me smile and shout, “Lord, are you trying to tell me something?” 🙂 This time, the absolute need of the Holy Spirit – I was studying this topic for the past two days with daily devotion topic!
      Our precious four-legged, rescued kids, Max & Allie. My instant smiles and daily comforters always. Nothing beats their excitement and smiles (they really shake their heads back and forth, showing their teeth as their gums flap in the wind) when we arrive home. I could go on and on about these two. God sure did create magnificent creatures to touch the lives of many with their unconditional love. We are blessed!
      Thank you for your prayers Anne! If you have any special needs that we could specifically pray for, please let me know! Blessings,
      Cath

      • Thank you for sharing Cath and yes my M and M’s, Monty and Mo-Joe bring me great Joy too, they welcome me home with unrestrained Barking and running around in circles it’s a bit like me when I see or hear from my friends although I do try to restrain my excitement a little bit.

        Thank you also Cath for your willingness to pray for me and yes I do need prayer, my eyes are giving me problems again, they are very sore, I have been doing a lot of reading seeking to catch up with Posts, so that does not help, although I’m enjoying doing so but not my eyes.

        Many Blessings for Easter for you, your husband and your family- Anne

  2. Sandy Pleasants

    Great Job Sister! Keep up the hard work. Miss You!

    • 🙂 Pushing my happy buttons Sister! We’ll get together when things settle down in your neck of the woods! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

