One Balancing Act of Life

It’s been an interesting and long week filled with such blessings and yes trials.  I am so grateful for that balance!  Life, isn’t it?

Whether you have MS or not, most have heard about it, know someone with the disease or descriptives like lesion load, relapses, damaged myelin, drugs to slow the process, cure, disability, etc.  Four disease courses have been identified in multiple sclerosis: relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS), secondary-progressive MS (SPMS), primary-progressive MS (PPMS) and progressive-relapsing MS. (http://www.nationalmssociety.org/What-is-MS/Types-of-MS) Each course comes with varying disease activity and symptoms. You might find yourself experiencing significant trouble, a little or hardly at all.  That’s the unpredictability and Many Surprises of MS.

Brittany and John final (1)As you probably know by now, I’m a huge proponent of being your own advocate.  Research, investigate, ask questions and try all and any options you have available. Be proactive!  Find what works for you and be committed to just that!  I’m forever grateful I did.  Despite my ugly MRI results early on (lots of lesion development), I was able to live my life the best I could and take care of my family! Priceless for me.  My goal now is to stay one step ahead of my MS and prepared for what the Lord brings my way.

Last week I had MRIs performed – cervical spine and thoracic respectively.  I am the crowned “Queen of MRIs” as I value the information and baselines they provide. Remember, MRIs don’t necessarily correspond to how you feel physically and are different with each patient. For me, I appreciate my neurologist explaining my current MRI results in comparison to previous studies. This isn’t necessarily an option for all patients but a good way for me to understand what I’m managing.  I need that. Of course, right now I have formed my own conclusions (imagine that) but am anxious to speak with my neurologist to hear her impressions.

Meanwhile, PT was going full speed ahead for me.  I was getting stronger and trying new tools to help with my hip flexor (or lack thereof) and drop foot.  The hip flexor gadget is a new tool currently being investigated and is close to being rolled out following clinical studies.  Thank goodness my PT gets my sense of humor while trying these new tools – “I believe I’m sporting everything you have to offer!”  We laughed!  My BalanceWear vest, the hip flexor deal – straps around your hip, travels down to the knee, more strapping, down to the foot, you guessed it, more strapping, finally, you’re ready to begin walking.  I was doubtful that this get up would do much of anything but was shocked that it did pick up my knee allowing a natural swing through gait process. Success!  This was added to my “to do” practice list.

Next, time to give the Elevate Brace for drop foot a try. Once again, as this brace was strapped around my ankle, little prongs connected to my sneaker, tightened, I really didn’t think I was going to be able to walk, have a normal “heel, toe” stride. It was so tight!  Talk about uncomfortable!  Once again, I was wrong!  It was doing a great job.  I was so happy I tried this simple and easy tool too!

footscientific.com

footscientific.com

This visit was truly a blessing.  I just love my PT’s willingness to reach into her tool box to see what might help!  I was so encouraged that I could be on the move again.  One odd-looking duck to many, but you’d be surprised at how onlookers respond to a smile!  I’m more than happy to provide daily entertainment!  🙂

And then the trial.  With all the fun I was experiencing with trying these tools, my foot really thought otherwise.  It prefers not to work properly.  I ended up with a huge blister, right above my little toe, swelling (looks like an elephant foot) and currently progressed to infection and fever. Are you kidding me?!?  I started antibiotics yesterday and as you probably guessed, the good ole recipe for RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation).  I’ll head back to PT in a couple of weeks when things settle down.

The balancing act of life, filled with blessings and trials, preparing me for His perfect timing and will for what’s next!  Stay tuned!

“Count Your Blessings”

19 Comments

  1. Getting everything to work in perfect harmony.. hope you feel better soon Catherine.. Diane

    • Thank you Diane. Still trying to learn patience…lol! Hope you’re doing well and have more robins paying a visit! 🙂

      • Yes, the robins are coming… This week is actually still going to be cold, but I think then it will start warming up…. Diane

      • 🙂 We had our guest make her grand appearance the other day…the groundhog. She claims the shed as her humble abode. Her babies will be out and about real soon!

  2. Susan Clark Denny

    Your foot rebelled? How RUDE! Fever and antibiotics? That’s quite a rebellion. I am so sorry! Be careful with yourself, sweetie!

    • Thank you Susan! No time for such non-sense! lol Hope you’re doing well and sharing your laughter! I see your beautiful smile! 🙂

  3. Sorry about the last comment Cath not sure what happened just delete it and I will try again below. Anne.

  4. Every time a see the Picture of your Family Cath I say Wow, how blessed you are and how very blessed they are to have you.

    Cath I have been Miraculously healed much more than once, it really is a long list now, these conditions could have caused my death or greatly limited my day to day living, God knows how much we can endure and gives us the Strength to live with the limitations we still have.

    We don’t know what tomorrow will bring Cath but I’m praying you will be healed either Miraculously or by God’s created tools in Medicine or Nature, He is God of the impossible and that is a reality shown in my life and many others, He will raise you up!.
    .

    .

    I have put you on my Blog Role Cath I hope that is OK – Blessings – Anne

    • Thank you for your sweet reply Anne. Sounds like you too can clearly see His divine hand and intervention in our lives. I have no doubt He is always hard at work as we trust in His ways. He will take us, just as we are, and allow us to impact the lives of others. We know He’s smiling as He states…well done my good and faithful servant! 🙂

      Thank you for the beautiful attachment! One of my very favorite hymns! Be well and enjoy your day friend! Blessings to you Anne!

  5. Hi Cath I love reading you! I nominated you for Liebster which was passed onto me http://emmalisa3.com/2015/04/08/the-liebster-award-edition/

    • Thank you for your very kind nomination Emma. I’m not very good with the techy end of things here and find it difficult to complete necessary process. With sincere appreciation for you kind thoughts, just wanted to let you know I can’t do this. I’m truly enjoying your blog and can’t wait to read more! 🙂

      • Hi Cath, no worries at all, I have to admit I thought twice about it too but wasn’t sure if it might help to spread the blog a bit further! Blessings to you, Emma xxx

  6. Thank you for your understanding Emma! I have every confidence this is an opportunity to bring about awareness through blogging! Keep up the great work! Blessings to you too! 🙂

  7. Here’s hoping your foot is feeling better and cooperating as you try these new tools. A smile always fools them. 🙂

    • You’re the best! Thank you Judy! Here’s a sincere 🙂 for you!

  8. Ahh, good luck Cath, I’m sorry to hear about your blister-keep up your hard work.

    • Thank you Chris! Hope you and the family are enjoying your new pupper! 🙂

  9. So sorry you got that nasty blister and infection, but hope you will be able to continue to try out these new things! Your posts are always inspiring!

    • Thank you Terri! Can’t wait to read all about your trip to see your “blessings!” Friends church just returned from restoring a kitchen at a church! God remains so good with the willingness of many to help any way they can…that includes one special Momma…you!

Leave a Reply

