Never-Ending Story…

The sometimes never-ending story lingers.  MS continues to wreak havoc with me.  My frustration shared on my previous post, Brain Freeze, quickly transferred into feelings of anger, fear and helplessness.  I needed to understand what was happening with my progression?  All kinds of thoughts raced through my mind…Now What?

Instant smiles...

Instant smiles…

The infection of my foot was slowly healing with the help of antibiotics. During the past few weeks, I began to experience significant spasticity by mid day. Walking was my biggest challenge.  My BalanceWear vest and cane were my lifesavers.  Each passing day seemed to bring about more new symptoms.  My right hand was out of commission, no use, no typing, you get the picture.  I was having blurred and double vision through out the day.  I haven’t had these symptoms since my last relapse nearly ten years ago. Of course, I followed the typical protocol to wait 24-48 hours after new symptoms appeared before contacting my neurologist. She wanted to rule out any type of infection that may be causing these symptoms and referred me to my family doctor.  With my neuros office being three hours away, I was liking this idea!

The next morning, I awoke to my foot being swollen, inflamed and the wound looking awful.  Our original plan was to see my family doctor to make sure nothing was a brewing.  I presented with the culprit, an infected foot.  Part of me was actually relieved with this infection.  Could explain the new symptoms I was having.

Following my exam, I was referred to see a podiatrist the same day!  I was so fortunate they had a cancellation!  He examined the area and agreed it was infected and very tender. Needless to say, he wanted to debride (removal of dead tissue from a wound to aid in healing) the area.  When I saw the scalpel, I instantly commented, “are you kidding me!?!” I politely turned my head and grabbed the arms of the exam table sqeezing for dear life!  I survived! Imagine that! He recommended we get the infection under control with another antibiotic and possibly inject with cortisone to reduce the inflammation upon follow-up.  I will see him again in a couple of weeks!  Let the fun continue!

The power of antibiotics!  They seem to be working as my vision issues subsided and I am regaining use of my hand. Times like these can be friendly reminders of what the future may or may not hold, the unpredictability of MS, isn’t it?

As the never-ending story continues, one word plays an important role in my every day life – Attitude.  My attitude, my choices will determine how I’m going to handle what’s dealt my way be it good, bad or indifferent.  Process, accept and move forward just as I am.  God’s not done with me yet!

“Count Your Blessings”

20 Comments

  1. Sending you good thoughts!!! (o) (o) (o) cyber hugs Hang in there kiddo, you are one tough lady!!!

    • Thank you GF! You’re thoughts and cyber hugs are refreshing! Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  2. Jill

    Oh my dear friend😱…I suspected something was up when I received no response to texts, messages & Facebook posts. So glad to hear you were able to get into see primary & Podiatrist so quickly. Praising our Lord & Saviour for that! If you need to head back down to Johns Hopkins…your BFF taxi is here to gladly serve! 😘 Ally & I will keep that bed in the spare room nice & warm…lol. You are ALWAYS in my prayers my dear 🙏 and I hold our friendship very dear PLEASE don’t hesitate to call should you need me for ANYTHING at all! Love you 💚💛💙💜❤️

    • You’re the best! I love my BFF taxi, not to mention Allie anxiously anticipating your next visit! Love you girl!

  3. Hi Cath, I’m so sorry you are going thru all of that, it’s amazing how an infection can throw our enire nervous system down the crapper. I hope you start to feel better soon. Hang in there😘

    • Thank you for your comment and words of encouragement, Chris! Hope all is well! 🙂

  4. Yes, attitude is everything. And keep counting your blessings! God is still good. (We always take probiotics or yogurt with those antibiotics!)

    • Attitude and our blessings are good reminders of His provisions, no doubt! Always exciting to read the use of antibiotics! So import during antibiotic use and every day! Enjoy your day!

  5. I’m so sorry that you have to go through all of this, your bravery and upbeat post amaze me. your in my prayers and I hope you continue to heal.

    • Thank you for you kind comment Terri and prayers, Terri! 🙂

  6. Susan Clark Denny

    Imagine someone stroking your head, praying and probably crying over you. That’s me. I love your fight and your attitude!

    • 🙂 You painted the perfect picture GF! Thank you!

  7. Stephanie Thorpe

    Attitude….that sounds so simple, and yet it can be a real battlefield…. a life-changer in a heartbeat!

    The Word reminds us that “His mercies are new every morning”…Praying that you will “see” His mercies today. ….glad they are on the trail of destroying the infection and thankful that you are seeing some symptoms subside.

    Love you!

    • I completely understand the attitude battlefield Steph! Thank you for your prayers. He’s up to something! Hope you’re doing well! 🙂

  8. So sorry Catherine that you’re having this to deal with. I suppose the infection may play more havoc because of the MS… ? In any case I hope the antibiotics clear this up soon. ..My prayers are with you… Diane

    • Thank you for you kind post and prayers, Diane. You are right that infection revs up symptoms with MS. Continued healing with the power of antibiotics! 🙂

  9. MS always goes crazy when you have an infection. good luck getting better quick. and remember, once the antibiotics are finished, quickly take a course of probiotics to repopulate the good stuff in your gut – it’s an important part of staying well. 😉

    • Thank you Miranda for you kind post. I ta and recommendation! I take probiotics daily and am so happy my neuro understands the benefits of gut health, especially when antibiotics are indicated! 🙂

  10. Sorry to hear you are having some extra challenges but glad that you are being well treated by your local physicians and that the medications are working. It’s a good thing the word ‘attitude’ starts with an ‘a’ so it can be at the beginning of the dictionary because it is a very important word and our life is dramatically impacted by it. Sounds like you have a good handle on it. 🙂

    • You are one amazing lady, Judy! Your comment made me smile. I never thought about your dictionary reference above for “attitude and an a.” As we would say in our home, brilliant! I can’t wait to share with hubby tonight! Your gardens are coming to life! Love your photos! 🙂

Leave a Reply

