Roadblocks and a Ray of Sunshine!

Sometimes life seems to bombard you with all types of roadblocks, challenging you each and every step of the way. Like me, you may find yourself ready for a break from roadblocks, period!  Wanting to simply enjoy life without one more interruption, even briefly!  We all face varying circumstances each and every day. Some harder than others. They don’t even have to be the all-consuming medical roadblocks, just life in general.  That’s where I found myself lately.

My assortment of medical issues continue to wax and wane.  The foot is getting better, praise the Lord. Ready to begin my next phase to make sense of my apparent progression:  see a hematologist (to investigate blood levels and potential causes for my lingering, bizarre infections) and back to John Hopkins to evaluate my latest events.

frustratedJust to keep things interesting, our dishwasher began to slowly leak. It became obvious to us something was wrong when the hardwood floors, right by the dishwasher, began to buckle. Why not!  Long story short, they need to repair and refinish our entire first level so “all the hardwood floors would match.” Translation – we need to vacate our home for one week. Frustrated…Bang Head Here!

Aah, frustration!  Brings back memories when I worked as an EKG Tech on the weekends at the local hospital. Each morning I would gather my orders and hit the floors to complete my requests.  I remained on call for the rest of the day, only a page away for help.  Whether I was having a good day or not, I couldn’t help but smile as I carted my equipment to the ICU or the ER where I was greeted with posters hanging on the doors, “Frustrated…Bang Head Here!”

No matter how bombarded or frustrated I feel, I also know that this too shall pass.  He’s always hard at work. Patience girl!  And just like that, my ray of sunshine appeared.  We became Grandparents to one precious baby girl born to our son and his beloved wife last week.  Instant cure for all of life’s roadblocks.  Challenge yourself to be that “ray of sunshine” for someone today!  You just might find yourself smiling too!

“Count Your Blessings”

12 Comments

  1. “Be a ray of sunshine…” I love the sentiment! You will be stronger for surviving the roadblocks. Be the sunshine.

    • Thank you Pam! I love the ray of sunshine you provide each and every day! 🙂

      • (;o)$

  2. Susan Clark Denny

    Way to go, GF! Love you, love your attitude! Kiss that baby for me!

    • You’re the best GF! You can count on many kisses for Rachael! Can’t wait to see her! 🙂

  3. Congratulations on the new grandchild! I suspect you will be that baby’s favorite “ray of sunshine.” 🙂

    • You are so sweet, Lilka! Let the rays of sunshine beam every so brightly! Can’t wait to see her! 🙂 Enjoy your day!

  4. A grandchild … such pure joy and ray of sunshine. When you look at a baby’s face the wonderment of God’s creation is just overwhelming… Congratulations to you and your husband and of course ‘Mommy and Daddy’… Diane

    • Thank you Diane! What a beautiful comment! We can’t wait to see her for sure! Are your bird friends nesting in your neck of the woods? 🙂

      • It’s strange this year. There seems to be less birds around…maybe since the weather was cold in the spring, they are delayed… There are some, but I seem to remember last year seeing a lot more by this time… Diane

  5. Oh my, a new granddaughter definitely trumps a leaky dishwasher and buckled floors. In your immediate future, I see shopping, rocking, snuggling, smelling that new baby smell, and just smiling from ear to ear. Enjoy every minute, they grow up faster than you’d like. 🙂

  6. Well, you know I think this is kind of hilarious…and CONGRATS on the new baby..I feel like that may change a lot of things…only in a good way! Take care,Cath…will be in touch soon!

Leave a Reply

