Let’s Get Physical…

We all know that exercise is good for our overall health, right? Yet, many find it difficult to motivate themselves to start, especially with a condition like MS or similar challenges. I can find myself frustrated or defeated before I even begin!  At times, it’s easier to say, really don’t want to, why bother, it isn’t going to help, or I’ll be so exhausted.  Does this sound familiar?  

The Answer?  So many benefits from exercising:

  • To help improve overall health and mood.

  • To help improve muscle strength, mobility, and weakness.

  • To help improve fatigue, develop stamina.

  • To help manage weight, including a healthy diet.

  • To get those happy endorphins flowing!  

 

The Now What?  You may be concerned about having enough energy, stamina, or coordination to exercise. Fortunately, there are many different exercises for a variety of fitness levels and physical abilities. Find an exercise that you enjoy and be committed to it!  Do the below ideas intrigue you?  (Before starting an exercise regimen, make sure to talk to your healthcare provider for clearance.)

  • Walking

  • Aquatherapy

  • Biking (standard / recumbent)

  • Pilates / Yoga

  • Balance Exercises

  • Physician Therapy (unlimited alternatives)

Over the years, I’ve had success with many different exercises.  I am very fortunate to have a physical therapist who values the importance of strength and willingness to try new tools available to fight the debilitating effects of MS.  Her latest recommendations: adjusting my BalanceWear Vest (like a tune up, rearranging my weights for better balance) and a new venture…chair aerobics.  Check out Paul Eugene’s Chair Aerobic video to see if this might be an option for you too. Although I’ve modified the leg exercises, his infectious, positive spirit and genuine excitement keeps me motivated while having fun to boot!

Exercise, at any level, is one thing that allows me to feel empowered and confident that I’m helping myself to be optimal. Remember to pace yourself, listen to your body and rest when needed.  You just might be pleasantly surprised as you experience the many benefits of exercise too!

“Count Your Blessings”

6 Comments

  1. I had back surgery quite a while ago and have had different flare ups usually from lifting something I knew I shouldn’t. A couple of weeks ago I moved quite a few bags of wood pellets and have been suffering the consequences. I ‘need’ to go to our city indoor pool because swimming always helps move the recovery process along but I have to fight myself to go swimming in February. But, I’ve got to do it. Now, I just need to get myself out the door. 🙂

    • So sorry to read about your flare, Judy. I know how difficult this can be. After all, the gardens will be calling your name soon! I’m right there with you with heading to the pool in the winter! Burrr! Have you ever tried topical arnica cream? Just a thought. I saw Steven Clark, ND, in Wolfeboro while visiting my inlaws. He was awesome and offered great suggestions for my MS. Perhaps he might have ideas for you too? Hope you feel better real soon. Hugs!

      • I will check that cream out and that gentleman. Thank you very much. 🙂

      • 🙂 You can find the cream over the counter. Hope it helps! Enjoy your day Judy!

  2. Susan Clark Denny

    He’s cute! I’ll look him up online! Thanks, Catherine!

    • You won’t be disappointed GF! He has a number of different videos to stream!

Leave a Reply

