A Kid in the Candy Store ~

Nothing beats the aroma of my kitchen filled with fresh produce and herbs each week from our local  CSA (Community Supported Agriculture).  With CSAs, consumers contract with their farmers to receive a share of their weekly, organic harvest.  We’ve been members for nearly three years now and love it!

I tend to be a kid in the candy store, anxiously anticipating each week’s share. As we arrive at the farm, I find myself smiling as I watch the cattle grazing, the pigs racing thru the pasture and the chickens, well, their pretty oblivious to their surroundings. Into the barn we go to pickup our goods. Take a look at this week’s harvest:

AF53A2D1-5018-4318-B224-7366A0A97B03

This time of year screams tomato overload.  Never a problem in our home. Today, I’ll be making Roasted Tomato Basil Soup (recipe compliments of foodnetwork.com)  Hubby loves this!  A technique that I learned (thank you pinterest) is the flavor you can achieve with roasting veggies.  Never disappointed! While this soup requires just a few ingredients, combining several pounds of fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, onion, and yummy garlic, you know a home run is in the making!

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 1/4 lbs. Roma tomatoes, halved lengthwise

  • 1 1/4 lbs. Cherry tomatoes

  • 4 1/2 T. EVOO (I use Garlic infused)

  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

  • 8 cloves garlic, peeled

  • 2 small yellow onions, sliced 1/2-inch thick

  • 2 C. lightly packed fresh basil leaves

  • 4 – 5 C. vegetable broth

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees

  • Place tomatoes (Roma, cut side up) on a rimmed baking sheet. Toss with 3 T. EVOO, season with S&P

  • Place onion slices and garlic on a rimmed half sheet and coat with remaining 1 1/2 T. EVOO, season with S&P

  • Place baking sheets with tomatoes and onion/garlic into oven. Roast onion/garlic 30-35 minutes until edges are golden, tomatoes 40-45 minutes until golden

  • Peel away any burnt layers of onions if necessary

  • Pull peels from tomatoes (if not using a blender to emulsify)

  • Pour onion/garlic and tomatoes into a large pot (or combine with tomatoes in blender)

  • Add 4 C. vegetable broth and basil. Season with S&P to taste

  • Bring to a boil, reduce heat, simmer 20 minutes (minimum)

  • Add additional 1 C. broth to thin as desired. Blend soup with an immersion blender if you did not emulsify previously

soup

So simply and delicious!  Place soup in a bowl, top with basil, croutons, or sour cream, take your choice.  If you happen to have leftovers, this soup freezes really well!

Enjoy!

“Count Your Blessings”

 

6 Comments

  1. Alison Cinciripino

    Looks wonderful!!! I love the thought of cooler temperatures and soup. Your vegetables are beautiful. Al and I are going to have to sign up! Have a great day and enjoy the lovely weather!

    Love,

    Alison

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • 🙂 You won’t be disappointed, Alison. Today I’m making stuffed peppers. They also freeze nicely! Enjoy your day too! The windows are wide open, enjoying this beautiful day! ❤ friend!

  2. Thank you for the recipe Cath, it looks Yummy! and is nutritionally very good too.

    I never received this Post Cath even though I follow you, perhaps it’s the same with others, if so you may need to check with WordPress, although I will also check my Posts again to be sure.

    Blessings – Anne.

    • You will enjoy the recipe Anne! I will investigate the post issue question. I’m not the best technical person, so I hope to find the problem! Hope you and the family are doing well! 🙂

  3. Wow Cath! What a load of gorgeous veg you got! 😀 Love the recipe… I have both tomatoes (homegrown) and basil so this might just be on the menu for our ladies that lunch tomorrow! I hope you are keeping well… not checked in with you (or anyone else!) for a while! Hugs x

    • Just love our shares! You will enjoy this soup so much. It no basil, I’ve used dill, so good! I can appreciate the time constraints…I’m right there with you! Look forward to catching up too! Enjoy your day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

